Triathlon Training

…is going pretty well.  Wish I had more days per week to get to the pool.  I kind of feel lucky if I get there 2 days a week, and then it seems like I’m making up for the days I skipped rather than making any actual progress.  Right now I can do my 800 meter sprint triathlon distance in 21 minutes, and that’s with me pushing it pretty hard.  That time puts me right about in the middle of the pack, judging by last year’s records that I found posted online.  So, I’m okay with that, considering.  I don’t know how that will translate into an open water competition time, though, especially if the water is choppy and/or there’s a current.

I’m nervous but excited about it, and I think I’ll be able to hold my own on the swimming portion.  Wish I could get down to the pool every single day and try to get faster.  I’ve been at 21 minutes for a while now and can’t seem to break through that.  My relay team mates are probably quite a bit better than me compared to the rest of the competition, so I’m just hoping I don’t let them down.

Well, I’m excited though.  This will be my first triathlon, and it’s something that’s long been in the back of my mind to do.  I’ll keep you posted!

2 Responses so far »


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment