Miscellaneous Updates From the Field

I haven’t blogged in forever!  Well, there’s a very good reason for that, I suppose.  I’ve been hired on as the new science teacher at Thunderbird Adventist Academy in Scottsdale, AZ.  It’s about a 3 hour drive from where I currently live.  So, we’re planning a move!

My contract started July 1, which means I’m supposedly working full time right now.  Well, I am making lesson plans (such as I make), preparing Power Point presentations for my new Smart board (yay!) and ordering posters from art.com.  I’ve already made one trip down there and got housing lined up, all my HR paperwork done, and started cleaning out my classroom, lab, office, and 4 chemical storage rooms.  Let’s just be nice and say the former teacher left in a hurry to start her next job…such a hurry, in fact, that when I went in I found vials and beakers half full of unlabeled substances sitting around on student desks!  Nice.  Well, the office lent me a couple of student workers who were a great help in trying to make some order out of the whole shebang.  Shout out to Dianna for cleaning off an entire (20 ft. long) work bench that was about 3 feet deep in piles of lab equipment, glassware, broken stuff, trash, old homework assignments, a preserved fetal pig in a clear plastic bag, etc.  Further shout out to Narcy for inventorying and restocking all the student lab drawers, which was a bigger job than it sounds like.  Still a lot of work to do, but at least I feel like I can function in there for now.

I’ll be teaching Biology I and II, Chemistry, and Anatomy & Physiology, as well as helping with student activities and such (it is a boarding school, so there are a lot of extra extra-curriculars).  I think it’s going to be a ton of fun.

So, in regards to this blog, I can’t promise when I’ll post anything, but I am going to keep the blog at least minimally alive.  I have started on the 1 week vegan meal plan, and will post that when I have it all pulled together.  In the mean time, you must sate yourself with this awesomely refreshing summer recipe http://www.delish.com/recipefinder/watermelon-agua-fresca-recipe-5567.

Happy Independence Day!  May God continue to bless America, and may America be a blessing to the rest of the world.

Leave a comment